Portal | Staff Mail | Journal | Forum | E-Learning |



Ramat Polytechnic Maiduguri was established in January 1973 as Government Technical College by the defunct North-Eastern State Government. The Technical College was upgraded and renamed Ramat College of Technology in April 1978 by the then Borno State Government to Immortalize the name of the late Head of State, General Murtala Ramat Muhammad. In august 1979, it was again upgraded to the status of a Polytechnic in conformity with the Federal Government initiative to rename all Colleges of Technology in the country to Polytechnic.

Ramat Polytechnic main gate


The Polytechnic which is fully recognized by the National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) and the National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE) has 30 Academic Departments structured into 5 schools. The school system was introduced in 1982/1983 Academic session with the following:

  1. School of Agricultural and Applied Sciences
  2. School of Engineering and Bio-Environmental Technology
  3. School of Environmental Studies
  4. School of Management Studies
  5. School of Vocational and Technical Education.

The Polytechnic offers full and part-time courses of instructions and training leading to ND (National Diploma), HND (Higher National Diploma), NCE (National Certificate in Education) in Technical and Business, and other Certificates of distinctions in Science, Technology, Management and Engineering courses as the intermediate level of manpower requirements for the State and the Nation in general. In addition, PRE-ND i.e. Pre-National Diploma is run in Sciences and science-related courses for a year in the Department of Pre-ND Studies. This is in order to prepare students for National Diploma courses.

Ramat Polytechnic, which started by admitting only three hundred students in 1978 has a student population of over fourteen thousand students as at 2013/2014 Academic Session. So far, about forty thousand students have graduated from the Institution with National Diploma, Higher National Diploma, National Certificate in Education in Technical and Business, and Polytechnic Diploma, Certificate and AEO. The Polytechnic commenced Postgraduate Diploma through the Consultancy Services Unit in Management, Finance, Agronomy and Farm Management, Health Education and Hygiene and Education since 2003. All the programmes are affiliated to the University of Maiduguri. The Unit is also planning to mount additional 5 to 7 programmes in the near future.